Site icon Premium Politics

12 govs, others sign Tinubu’s presidential nomination forms

Bola Tinubu

APC leader, Bola Tinubu

The Expression of interest and nomination forms submitted by the National Leader of the All Progressives Congress and presidential hopeful, Bola Tinubu, were signed by 12 sitting governors and 370 statutory delegates.

On Wednesday, the form was submitted to APC officials in Abuja by Tinubu, who was represented by the Governor of Lagos State, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, and former Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Babachir Lawal.

In a tweet, the Chief Press Secretary to the Governor of Lagos State, Gboyega Akosile, wrote, “Just in: frontline @OfficialAPCNg presidential aspirant @officialABAT this afternoon submitted his expression of interest and nomination forms to the @OfficialAPCNg officials at the International Conference Centre, Abuja. Former SGF, Babachir Lawal, accompanied by Gov @jidesanwoolu submitted on his behalf.”

Shortly after Akosile’s tweet, one Twitter user identified as @DOlusegun tweeted, “Asiwaju’s nomination form was signed by 420 registered members. 370 of the 420 are statutory delegates and 12 of those are sitting governors. Just you wait.”

This was affirmed by Akosile, who wrote “word!” in response to the tweet.

There was however jubilation at the ICC venue of the submission.

Among Tinubu’s jubilant supporters was a delegation of South East campaigners mobilised by Special Adviser on Drainage and Water Resources to Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State, Joe Igbokwe.

Dressed in ‘Isi Agu’ traditional attire, members of the ‘Asiwaju South East Mobilisation Frontiers’ were seen dancing and sharing campaign handbills to other delegates.

Exit mobile version