Site icon Premium Politics

Eight lawmakers dump APC, defect to PDP

PDP queries APC over Tinubu's manifesto

The All Progressive Congress in Kebbi State has lost eight lawmakers to the Peoples Democratic Party.

According to Daily Post, the lawmakers comprised five members of the National Assembly and three of the state House of Assembly.

The manner in which the ruling party, the All Progressive Congress, allegedly conducted its primary elections led to the mass defection to the main opposition, the Peoples Democratic Party, as most party members say they are disenchanted.

The Senator representing Kebbi Central Senatorial District, Adamu Aliero, Kebbi North Senatorial District, Yahaya Abdullahi, Senate leader as well as a member of the House of Representatives, defected from APC to PDP.

Members representing Aliero/Jega/Gwandu and Dandi/Arewa federal Constituencies Mohammed Umar Jega and Abdullahi Zumbo also dumped the APC for PDP.

Habibu Labbo, Ismaila Bui, and Mohammed Buhari Aliero, representing Gwandu, Arewa, and Aliero constituencies, of the state House of Assembly, also abandoned APC for PDP.

Usain Raha, the state Organizing Secretary of the PDP, confirmed the defection of the lawmakers to the PDP.

Exit mobile version