Site icon Premium Politics

Ekiti 2022: Fayemi, Adebayo lead APC campaign council

Kayode Fayemi

Kayode Fayemi

Governor Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti State, his Deputy, Bisi Egbeyemi and Minister of Trade and Investment, Niyi Adebayo are to lead the All Progressives Congress campaign for the June 18 Governorship election in the state

This was contained in a statement issued by the Ekiti APC Publicity Secretary, Mr Segun Dipe, on Tuesday in Ado-Ekiti.

The immediate past Secretary to the Ekiti State Government, Mr Biodun Oyebanji, is the party’s candidate for the governorship election.

While Fayemi is to lead the 20-member Campaign Council as Chairman, Egbeyemi will as the Vice-Chairman while the Candidate’s Advisory Council is to be co-chaired by Adebayo.

Other members are grassroots mobiliser, Cyril Fasuyi, as Director-General of the campaign organisation, two former Deputy Governors, Prof Modupe Adelabu and Surv. Abiodun Aluko.

Others are Bisi, Fayemi’s wife, State Chairman of the party, Paul Omotosho and a former APC State Chairman, High Chief Jide Awe.

The APC named the 10 directorates as Administration and Human Resources; Strategy Research and Planning; Welfare, Protocol and Logistics; Contact and Mobilisation; Women Mobilisation; Youth Mobilisation; Media and Publicity; Security and Intelligence; Campaign Coordination; and Legal Matters.

The Independent National Electoral Commission has released the final list of candidates for the June 18 governorship election in Ekiti State.

INEC national commissioner and chairman, information and voter education committee, Festus Okoye, in a statement, said the publication of the final list of candidates by the commission is in line with the electoral act.

According to the published list, 16 political parties presented governorship candidates alongside their running mates, for the June 18 Ekiti election.

Out of the 16 candidates vying for the governorship position — 14 are male while two are female.

For the deputy governorship position, seven female candidates are vying for the position as well as nine male candidates.

“In compliance with the Electoral Act 2022, the commission hereby publishes the final list of candidates for the election following the close of nominations by political parties,” Okoye said.

“The commission wishes to remind political parties that under Section 32(2) of the Electoral Act 2022, any party that observes that the name of its candidate is missing from the list “shall notify the commission in writing, signed by its national chairman and secretary, supported with an affidavit not later than 90 days to the election”

“Furthermore, the attention of parties is drawn to section 32(3) of the Electoral Act 2022, which provides that failure to notify the commission “shall not be ground to invalidate the election”.

NAN reports that the Governorship candidates are Cheif Ajagunigbala Olajide of the AAC, Oluwole Oluyede of the ADC, Elebute-Halle Josephine of the ADP, while the APC candtdtae is Abiodun Oyebanji and APGA has Benjamin Obidoyin.

Others are Fagbemi Adegbenro of the APM, Christiana Olatawura of the APP, Daramola Olugbenga of the LP, Fatomilola Abiodun of the NNPP, Iyaniwura Ifedayo of the NRM and
Olabisi Kolapo of the PDP.

Others are Agboola Ben of the PRP, Olusegun Oni of the SDP, Adebowale Ajayi of the YPP and
Adeolu Akinyemi of the ZLP.


Exit mobile version