Site icon Premium Politics

FG redeploys confidential secretaries ahead of ministerial appointments

Ten new confidential secretaries have reportedly been deployed by the Office of the Head of Civil Service of the Federation ahead of the appointment of the new ministers.


According to The PUNCH, a memo signed by the Permanent Secretary, Career Management Office, OHCSF, Marcus Ogunbiyi, dated July 18, 2023, noted that the details of compliance of the newly appointed secretaries must be received by July 24, 2023.


The memo was addressed to the Chief of Staff to the President, Femi Gbajabiamila; the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, George Akume; all permanent secretaries, the Department of State Services and the National Drug Law Enforcement Agency.


It was also copied to the service chiefs and the Inspector-General of Police, the Governor, the Central Bank of Nigeria and the chairpersons of the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission; Economic and Financial Crimes Commission; Code of Conduct Bureau; Police Service Commission and Federal Character Commission.


Others who were also notified included the chairpersons of the Revenue Mobilisation, Allocation and Fiscal Commission; Independent National Electoral Commission; National Population Commission; Federal Inland Revenue Service, Clerk of the National Assembly, among others.


The memo read partly, “I am directed to convey the approval of the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation for the deployment of the following Confidential Secretaries SGL. 12- 14 in the Federal Civil Service. Please note that this posting takes immediate effect.


“All Directors of Human Resources Management/Administration are required to submit details of compliance to this posting instruction to the Office of the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation no later than July 24, 2023.”


“All officers concerned are reminded that failure to adhere to this posting instruction contravenes the provisions of the Public Service Rules 030301 (b).


“The Public Service Rules 030301(b) states that refusal to proceed on transfer or to accept posting is misconduct which is inimical to the image of the service and which can be investigated and proved. It can also lead to termination and retirement.”


Some of those appointed include Onalo James to serve at the Office of the minister for transportation, Obi Ngozi, office of the minister of aviation, Ekwot Theresa, office of the minister of Information and culture, Gukas Jumai, office of the minister of Special duties among others.

Exit mobile version