Site icon Premium Politics

Gov poll: APC’s Nwifuru wins Ebonyi State

Hon Francis Nwifuru

Hon Francis Nwifuru


The candidate of the All Progressives Congress in the just concluded governorship deletion in Ebonyi State, Francis Nwifuru, has been declared the winner of the March 18 governorship election in the state.

Declaring the result at the Independent National Electoral Commission State Headquarters in Abakaliki, the State Returning Officer, Charles Igwe, said Mr. Nwifuru garnered a total of 199,131 votes cast across the 13 local governments in the state.

However, his closest rival in the election, Ifeanyi Odii of the Peoples Democratic Party, got a total of 80,191 votes to come second.

The candidate of the All Progressive Grand Alliance, Bernard Odoh, came third with 52,189 votes.

The Returning Officer said, “I, Professor Charles Igwe, hereby certify that I am the Returning Officer of the governorship election held on 18th March 2023 in Ebonyi State.

“That Francis Nwifuru of the APC having satisfied the requirements of the law and having scored the highest number of votes is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected.”

According to the Returning Officer, who is the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Nigeria, Nsuka, the total valid votes were 342,554 while 7,387 votes were rejected; bringing the total votes cast for the election to 349,941.

However, the governor-elect, Francis Nwifuru, thanked the people of Ebonyi State for entrusting their mandate to him, for the next four years.

Mr. Nwifuru in his acceptance speech declared his unalloyed loyalty to the patriotic citizens of Ebonyi State, for electing him and promised never to disappoint them.

He commended Governor Dave Umahi for his support, which gave him victory.

Mr. Nwifuru, who is the current Speaker of the Ebonyi State House of Assembly, described his victory as a victory for equity and justice.

He described the election as a reflection of the wishes of the people who have been resolute and desirous of consolidating the development of the state, over the years.



Exit mobile version