Site icon Premium Politics

Gov poll: Sanwo-Olu sweeps 19 out of 20 Lagos LGA

Gov. Sanwo-Olu

Gov. Babajide Sanwo-Olu


The Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu is in early lead as the Independent National Electoral Commission, continues the collation of results from the 20 Local Government Areas, in the state.

The incumbent governor, who is the candidate of the All Progressives Congress for this year’s governorship election, is contesting for his second tenure in office, after his first tenure of four years, which will come to an end by May, this year.

The Resident Electoral Commissioner in Lagos State Olusegun Agbaje, had earlier stated that 16 results were so far available at the collation center in Yaba, but other three local government results were joined, as the collation continues.

However, the incumbent governor, Sanwo-Olu had been placed ahead of other candidates in the election, after collating 19 local government results, collated so far.

The 2023 governorship election in Lagos State, is keenly contested, as two other contestants from two major opposition parties, Abdul-Azeez Adeniran of Peoples Democratic Party and Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour of the Labour Party, which its Presidential candidate, Peter Obi won Lagos, during the last presidential election, joined the race to fight for number one seat, in Lagos State.

Exit mobile version