Site icon Premium Politics

Kogi assembly majority leader resigns

Kogi state House of Assembly

Kogi state House of Assembly

The Kogi Assembly Majority Leader, Murktar Bajeh has resigned from his position in protest of the terrorist tag thrown at him and eight other House members.


The Governor of Kogi state, Yahaya Bello, had on March 23 tagged nine of the 25 assembly members as terrorists for their alleged roles during the March 18 House of Assembly elections held in the state.


The governor also, in a letter to the Speaker, Matthew Kolawale, requested that the group of nine, including the Majority Leader be suspended and their roles during the assembly election investigated.


However, Bajeh, in a letter to the house on Wednesday, informed his colleagues of his decision to step down from the majority leader’s position following the actions of the governor and the House.


His letter read, “I hereby wish to inform this House that I am no more interested in being your leader, but have resigned forthwith.”


The speaker, who read Bajeh’s letter at plenary, asked for comments on the matter, after which a motion was moved by the Deputy Speaker, Alfa Momoh-Rabiu, for the nomination of a substitute in the person of the Chief Whip, Ahmed Dahiru, to replace Bajeh as the Majority Leader.


PM News reported that the speaker put a question to members, on the nomination of the chief whip to fill in the vacant position, and the members unanimously accepted Dahiru as their new Majority Leader owing to his capacity and ability to do the job.


He therefore declared, “The house having accepted the choice of Hon. Ahmed Dahiru, member representing Okene II, to fill in the gap left by Hon. Muktar Bajeh, we hereby declare him (Dahiru) our new Majority Leader from today”.

Exit mobile version