Site icon Premium Politics

Osun: Oyetola, deputy win polling units

Osun State Governor Gboyega Oyetola

Osun State Governor Gboyega Oyetola

Governor Gboyega Oyetola and his deputy, Benedict Alabi, won their polling units in Saturday’s Osun State Governorship Election.

Oyetola won his polling unit, ward 8, unit 1, Isare Ifofin, in the Ilesa East Local Government Area of the state while his deputy won his polling unit at ward 6, unit 7, Baptist Day School, Ikire, in the Irewole Local Government.

According to Daily Trust, the incumbent governor, who is seeking reelection under the All Progressives Congress, secured 164 votes while his closest rival, Ademola Adeleke of the Peoples Democratic Party, trailed with 134 votes.

Also, Oyetola’s deputy, Alabi, pulled 206 votes, defeating the main opposition party which scored 184 in the contest, as five votes were declared void.

Minister of Interior and Oyetola’s predecessor, Rauf Aregbesola, who shunned the election, would have cast his ballot at the polling unit of the incumbent.

In February, Aregbesola described the Osun governorship primary election of the APC as a “sham of an election” after Moshood Adeoti, his choice, lost to Oyetola.

Exit mobile version