Site icon Premium Politics

Osun: Voting ends, Oyetola, Adeleke lead as counting begins

Adeleke warns Oyetola against looting of govt assets

PDP candidate - Adeleke and APC's Oyetola

The All Progressives Congress and the Peoples Democratic Party are in a tight race as counting of votes commenced in the governorship election in Osun State.

Official ward results showed that the PDP’s Ademola Adeleke and APC’s Gboyega Oyetola are leading as of press time though 15 political parties participated in the election.

The two leading candidates had contested in 2018 under the same party but Oyetola won to become governor while Adeleke entered the race again to challenge his opponent.

At the end of the rerun in 2018, Oyetola polled 255,505 votes while the PDP candidate scored a total of 255,023 votes.

Although Adeleke had led Oyetola with 353 votes at the end of the first round of ballots, but after the rerun, Oyetola won with 482 votes.

Some of the ward results are from Osogbo, Boripe, Ayedire, Ifedayo, Irewole, Ede, Olorunda, and Ife.

1,955,657 registered voters will decide the fate of the candidates this time around.

The Independent National Electoral Commission had also said the election would take place in 332 registration areas across the 30 local government areas of the state.

Exit mobile version