Site icon Premium Politics

Sokoto gov Ahmad Aliyu appoints 108-man transition committee

Ahmad Aliyu

Ahmad Aliyu

The Governor-elect of Sokoto State, Ahmad Aliyu, has inaugurated a 108-member transition committee to ensure a smooth handover of power come May 29.


The committee has Abubakar Sani as chairman; Deputy Governor-elect Idris Danchadi as the deputy chairman; Chiso Dattijo and Sahabi Gada are the first and second vice-chairmen, respectively.


Other prominent members include Lawali Margai, Abubakar Wurno, Bature Shinkafi, Isa Sadiq-Achida, Musa Maitafsir, Nagwari Tambuwal, Kulu Haruna, Hadiza Shagari and Rabi Tudun-Wada.


Peoples Gazette reported that Aliyu, addressing the ceremony on Tuesday in Sokoto, said the inauguration was a significant step to ensure a seamless handover of power.


He charged the committee to look into his nine-point agenda and produce an implementation roadmap. The nine-point agenda are security, promotion of religious affairs, education, healthcare delivery, water supply, economy, agriculture, women and youth empowerment, and local government autonomy.


He said, “The task before the committee is a heavy one. Leveraging on the broad composition of members with diverse experience and pedigree, I am confident they will discharge their responsibilities effectively.


“The committee is expected to prepare a roadmap for implementing the manifesto of the incoming government based on collated campaign promises.


“This agenda will have to be implemented on the short, medium, and long terms.”


Aliyu, therefore, urged all committee members to do their best to deliver on the task ahead.


Aliyu, of the All Progressives Congress, won the March 18 governorship election in Sokoto State with 453,661 votes to defeat his closest contender Sa’idu Umar of the Peoples Democratic Party, who polled 404,632 votes.

Exit mobile version