Site icon Premium Politics

Tinubu defeats Osinbajo, others to clinch APC ticket

fuel subsidy

Bola Tinubu

The national leader of the All Progressives Congress, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, has emerged as the presidential candidate of the ruling party.

Tinubu defeated the likes of Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi, amongst others at the just concluded primary held at Eagle Square in Abuja.

The former Lagos State governor, polled a total of 1217 votes to clinch the ticket.

Amaechi scored 316 votes to come second while Osinbajo polled 235 votes, followed by the Senate President, Ahmed Lawan, who polled 152 votes.

Premium Politics reported that the at least seven presidential aspirants, including Governor Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti State, former Ogun State Governor, Ibikunle Amosun, and former Senate President, Dimeji Bankole, amongst others stepped down for Tinubu on Tuesday.

See the full result below:

Nwajiuba – 1

Umahi – 38

Bakare – 0

Rufai Sani – 4

Amaechi – 316

Osinbajo – 235

Okorocha – 0

Yahaya Bello – 47

Onu – 1

Jack-Rich – 0

Lawan – 152

Ayade – 37

Mukoro – 0

Tinubu – 1,271

Void – 13

Exit mobile version