Site icon Premium Politics

Tribunal: Three Plateau PDP lawmakers lose seat to APC, LP


At least three lawmakers in Plateau State of the Peoples Democratic Party have been sacked by the national and state parliament election tribunal court.


The lawmakers’ victory was dismissed over their refusal to conduct ward congress as ordered by a judge in a lower court.


The All Progressives Congress and the Labour Party candidates were, however, declared winners.


The lawmakers are Remvyat Nanbol, Agbalak Adukuchill and Happiness Akawu, representing Langtang Central, Rukuba/Iregwe and Pengana constituencies in the state parliament, according to Daily Trust.


The tribunal on Thursday, September 21, ruled that candidates of the Labour Party, Bako Ankala and Yakubu Sanda of APC were winners of the election.


Justice Muhammad Tukur, who made the declaration, said the candidates of the PDP were sacked because the party did not legally sponsor them.


The ruling stated that the PDP candidates did not obey a court order mandating them to conduct a ward congress that would further legitimise them as party flagbearers.


The Independent National Electoral Commission was then ordered to withdraw the certificate of return from the PDP candidates’ possession and hand it over to the APC and Labour Party candidates.

Exit mobile version